QRO Magazine

We Barbarians

By Ted Chase
We Barbarians

Summer is over, and people have every reason to slow down.  Weather-related calamities are hitting all over the world – even brushed up against the Big Apple (though the city proper kept its streak of impregnability to natural disasters, no matter Mayor Bloomberg’s warnings – NYC: No natural disasters, no UFO abductions…).  It’s time to head back to school, head back to work (if you’ve got it), and otherwise put your head down.  But new New Yorkers We Barbarians are only just getting started, and kicked off their September tour a day early at New York’s Mercury Lounge (QRO venue review) on Wednesday, August 31st.

Originally from Long Beach, California (and not the Long Beach in New York that was hit so hard by Hurricane Irene), We Barbarians have mostly gotten notice for touring/opening for bands you like, from Tokyo Police Club (QRO spotlight on) & Ra Ra Riot (QRO spotlight on) to, more recently, electro-pop hits Foster the People (QRO album review).  But their September tour with ANR is much more of an equal billing (indeed, at We BarbariansMercury ANR played before them – QRO photos), and the Barbarians have a new EP to boot (QRO review).  The set at Mercury naturally saw all of the EP – including David Byrne/Brian Eno cover “Strange Overtones” – as well as new songs/the ones that’ll be on the LP.  In addition to “Overtones”, the EP’s following “Chambray” and the title track, “Headspace”, stood out strong for their indie-grit.  But there was also the bigger rock of “Spun Out” to open and “Release” to close, with evocative “Taking After” and expansive “Somewhere” one-two in the middle.

We Barbarians’ September tour takes them across the U.S. (and even into Canada), so don’t let the end of summer keep you from catching ‘em:

We Barbarians9/1/11 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
9/2/11 – Montreal, PQ, Canada – Casa del Popolo
9/3/11 – Toronto, ON, Canada – The Drake
9/5/11 – Detroit, MI – Lager House
9/6/11 – Grand Rapids, MI – Pyramid Scheme
9/7/11 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle
9/9/11 – Urbana, IL – Canopy Club
9/10/11 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th St. Entry
9/12/11 – Seattle, WA – Crocodile
9/13/11 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge
9/15/11 – San Francisco, CA – Bottom of the Hill
9/16/11 – Fresno, CA – Audie’s Olympic
9/17/11 – Los Angeles, CA – The Satellite
9/20/11 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar
We Barbarians

About the author

Ted Chase

Related Articles

Latest Concert Reviews
UB40

More Click here for photos from this show in the QRO Concert Photo Gallery My previous encounters with UB40 having been at arenas where,

Read more ...
  • Anna Calvi

    More Click here for photos from this show in the QRO Concert Photo Gallery Click here for photos of Anna Calvi at Empire Music Hall in Belfast,

    Read more ...
  • Grouplove – Live

    More Click here for photos from this show in the QRO Concert Photo Gallery Click here for all of QRO's coverage of Grouplove in QRO's

    Read more ...
Latest Interviews
Ash Moss of Dark Bells

After hearing Dark Bells headline at the Manchester Kraak Gallery, QRO caught up with bass player, Ash Moss, to find out a bit more about the London-based psych-gaze band.  Chatting about musical

Read more ...
  • Those Darlins

    Before playing the Bunk Bar in Portland, OR, Jessi & Nikki Darlin of Those Darlins talked to QRO.  In the conversation, these Darlins talked about their new album, Blur The Line, gender roles

    Read more ...
  • Bear Hands – Q&A

    At the release party/start of tour for their new Distraction (QRO review), Val Lopez and TJ Orscher of Bear Hands sat down with QRO.  In the conversation, the bassist & drummer talked about

    Read more ...
Latest Tracks
  • Woolfy – “City Lights”

    Woolfy, the project led by LA's Simon James, is set to release its debut EP, City Lights, and the title track is a subtropical bonfire jam with an uncommonly airy easiness. If anything else Woolfy

    Read more ...
Popular Articles
Album of the Week
Spotlight On:
Random Articles